Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
SBAND / UND School of Law Joint Committee
Share |

SBAND / UND School of Law Joint Committee

To facilitate the integration of legal education and the legal profession in our state and to foster and strengthen the relationship between UND School of Law and the practicing bench and bar in North Dakota.

Committee Members

Margaret Moore Jackson


Michael McGinnis


Andrew Askew


Nancy Morris


Kirsten Dauphinais


Rebecca Theim


Bradley Parrish


Zachary Pelham


Darcie Einarson



  1. The Joint Committee will advise and support the UND School of Law in its efforts related to the general areas of
    • Program of legal education and curriculum
    • Career services and transition to practice
    • Issues related to legal education or the law school before the State Board of Higher Education, the State Legislature, the American Bar Association, and/or the Association of American Law Schools
  2. The Joint Committee will identify and facilitate opportunities for collaboration and cooperation between the UND School of Law and SBAND consistent with each entity’s strategic mission and goals, such as
    • Mentoring of law students and new attorneys
    • Pro bono programs and services
    • Continuing legal education
    • Attorney networking
    • Services for law students and attorneys
  3. The Joint Committee will advocate for the integration of legal education and the legal profession by advancing
    • The knowledge, skills, and values fundamental to the effective and ethical practice of law
    • Practice-ready graduates with entry-level proficiency and professional self-sufficiency
    • Life-long learning for attorneys
    • Best practices in legal education


The Joint Committee will be co-chaired by the President of SBAND and the Dean of the UND School of Law. The Committee will be comprised of six additional members, three appointed by the Dean and three appointed by the SBAND Board of Governors. The Committee will also consist of three ex-officio members: the Past-President and President-Elect of SBAND, and the UND School of Law Assistant Dean for Student Life. The first appointed members (not including the co-chairs) will be assigned one-, two- and three-year initial terms in order to stagger the appointments. Appointed members are eligible for reappointment, but limited to serving two consecutive full three-year terms. The Committee shall meet at least twice a year.

more Calendar

2019 Fundamentals Webinar: Drone Law in North Dakota

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal