Advisory Council to the Office of Administrative Hearings Committee

Provide counsel to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Committee Members



November 13, 2013

Members present: Allen Hoberg, DeNae Kautzmann, Tim Wahlin, Joe Larson, Annette Bendish, Illona Jeffcoat-Sacco, Cassie Scheving, and Pat Ward. Staffed by Tony Weiler, SBAND Executive Director

The meeting was called to order at 12:10 p.m. by Chair Jeffcoat-Sacco.

Illona started by thanking Director Hoberg for his many years of service to OAH and wishing him well in retirement. Director Hoberg thanked the Committee.

Jeffcoat-Sacco also wanted to note she applied for the position of Director of OAH.

Motion by Kautzmann, second by Bendish to approve Minutes of June 21, 2013 meeting. Motion carried.

The Council discussed writing a Mission Statement. It was agreed all members would provide ideas to Executive Director Weiler, and Director Hoberg would give a few points about the Council from an historical perspective. Executive Director Weiler and the Chair will work on a new statement to be discussed and voted on at the next meeting.

The next topic discussed was the proposed rule relating to requesting a change of administrative law judge. The updated proposed rule was drafted by Director Hoberg and distributed to the committee. Mr. Hoberg indicated he was not going to take any action, but would leave it up to the new Director. The Council agreed that was the best course of action.

Director Hoberg discussed the Biennial Report of OAH in detail. He provided the committee with some good perspective on how busy the office is.

Discussion followed regarding a new OAH Director.

The Council discussed meeting the second Wednesday of May and November. Motion by Kautzmann, second by Bendish to meet two times a year on those dates at 12 p.m. Motion carried.

Motion by Kautzmann, second by Bendish to Adjourn. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 1:02 p.m.

Submitted by Tony J. Weiler